Latest Update

Well, it seems a couple of posts from earlier this year have vanished from here, leaving the early part of the year denuded of content. Still…

Finally losing my patience with the Work Programme, I decided to take the plunge and go self-employed as a freelance writer. Well, there was a lot of paperwork (and the need to hang on the phone in order to request said paperwork!), but finally, that’s all out of the way and I find myself wishing I’d done this years ago rather than wasting my life trying and failing to get a ‘real’ job.

Of course, it’s early days and it could still all go wrong, and it’s incredibly hard work, but I no longer have that sense of pointlessness that dealing with the Jobcentre and SEETEC engendered. Suddenly, my entire day is spent doing something positive with my life, not box-ticking and time-filling ‘activities’ to satisfy some idiot somewhere with no grasp of the real world.

As I grope my way to a suitable schedule, hopefully more regular posts on here will be part of that. But, in the meantime, all I have to say is that being self-employed has a lot to recommend it!

Leave a Reply

